District Licensing Committee

The role of the District Licensing Committee is to consider and determine all new and renewal applications, whether opposed or unopposed.

The Committee will make decisions on applications for:

  • New On, Off and Club licences
  • Manager's Certificates
  • Special Licences
  • Renewal of all licences and Manager's Certificates
  • Temporary Authority


The District Licensing Committee is made up of a Chairperson and two appointed community members.

Chair – Bruce Fraser

Deputy Chair – Deputy Mayor Rohan O’Neill-Stevens

Members – Councillor Trudie Brand, Gail Collingwood, Laurie Gabites, and Derek Shaw.

For most licence applications, if there are no objections from the public or opposition from the reporting authorities (Police, the Medical Officer of Health, and the Council's Licensing Inspector), applications can be granted by the chairperson without the need for a public hearing.  

The public can object to an application for an alcohol licence if they have an interest greater than the public in general.

When dealing with applications in which there are objections or opposition, the District Licensing Committee must sit with a quorum of three.  These will generally be public hearings.

Contact Us


03 546 0200